Robinlovers Forum  

Go Back   Robinlovers Forum > All about Rio Grande Pickups > Fancy Pickups and Assemblies

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 12-15-2010, 04:20 PM
RandyS RandyS is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1969
Location: Geneva, Switzerland
Posts: 114
Default Piezo in Robin Avalon

Hi, I have had a Robin Avalon for years and am doing more and more session & stage work. I'd love to have a piezo capability to get clear acoustic tones. Seems the Avalon would be great for this. Anyone try to do this with the Graphtec Ghost System and an Avalon?

I search their site, but am overloaded with options. Seems it would easy, but I can't even figure out how to do it on a Les Paul, without going deep into chat rooms. What parts do I need? How can I do this without shredding my main guitar to bits?

Thanks for any help,
Randy

See this for what I am after as far as tone:
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=9EHoI_urMWw
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 12-15-2010, 05:18 PM
RandyS RandyS is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1969
Location: Geneva, Switzerland
Posts: 114
Default The hunt for Piezo pickups

OK, I talked to Grpah Tech. They told me I need to measure the saddle.

If it is: post diameter 4mm with a 74mm spread

I need to get:

PN-8843-C0 (if chrome; PN-8843-NI if nickle hardware ) $193.95
PK-0240-00 kit0 (includes 3 way selector to replace the tone pot); $149.95

Prices are on main site. Musicians Friend or Sweetwater will be cheaper.

Can anyone confirm this specs? (post diameter 4mm with a 74mm spread)?

Thanx,
Randy
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 01-03-2011, 02:28 PM
RandyS RandyS is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1969
Location: Geneva, Switzerland
Posts: 114
Default Replacing tone pot on Avalon with Piezo control

OK, I have bought all the pieces I need to install the Ghost piezo system in my Avalon.

I can replace my jack with the stereo one, no problem; no invasive surgery needed.

It seems I cannot escape drilling a hole in the top to put the mag/piezo switch (ow; red micro switch in the pic).

However, it comes with a push pull pot for controlling the piezo volume (near manual in pic), and recommends replacing one of the tone pots on a Les Paul. I am concerned I will lose all tone control if I do this, as the Avalon has only one tone (push pull).

Any suggestions would be more than welcome...

Thanx,

Randy
Attached Images
File Type: jpg IMG_5167.jpg (105.1 KB, 3 views)
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 07-27-2011, 10:21 AM
RandyS RandyS is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1969
Location: Geneva, Switzerland
Posts: 114
Default Help with robin avalon pup diagrams

Hey anyone know the original correct configuration of the Robin Avalon in terms of pups and the two push/pull pots? I tried to get a luthier to install a piezo in mine, and now its all forked up. I got a mess on my hands and no real diagram to show him.

I always played by ear, and I suspect someone modified the guitar before I got it. So ya know, I realize I don't really know what know is intended to do what:

Which is tone?
What is push/pull SUPPOSED do on each pot?

Thanks a lot.
Randy
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 04-25-2012, 12:55 PM
SBjorstrom's Avatar
SBjorstrom SBjorstrom is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Temecula, California
Posts: 86
Send a message via Yahoo to SBjorstrom
Default

Randy, do you know someone that would be able to do a piezo on a Medley? Shoot me an email if so.

Thanks!
Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
avalon, piezo

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:43 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.